Saturday, December 20, 2014

Alaska Car Insurance





Alaska Car Insurance: State 

Requirements before you Hit the Road

As with every US state, car insurance coverage is required by law in the
state of Alaska. The environment laws in Alaska are very stern and
require strict obedience. Carrying motor insurance with sufficient
coverage insures that drivers will pay for the victim's losses. If you
own a car in Alaska, you need sufficient insurance coverage to payout
for any damages you may cause while on the road.

Alaska Car Insurance Requirements:

Alaska state law requires a minimum limit of $25,000 in Property Damage
Liability coverage, a minimum Bodily Injury Liability limit of $100,000
per accident and $50,000 per injured person. This is the basic coverage
requirement in Alaska is also known as 50/100/25 coverage.
 
Moreover, there is a Tort system followed in Alaska. This Tort system
states that in the case of an accident, someone must be guilty of
causing that accident. The person Found liable or at fault of causing
the accident and its insurance company must pay for all the damages as
appropriate. However, you should know that the Tort system differs from
state to state and what is applicable in Alaska may not apply in a
different state.
 
In Alaska, it is not required for drivers to purchase the
Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Coverage that cover bodily injury caused
by an underinsured/uninsured driver.
 
Though not densely populated, Alaska has a large ratio of accidents.
Hence, to protect its citizens, several insurance companies follow the
government guidelines when presenting final insurance quotes.
Alaska Division of Insurance has more details on state specific requirements. You can either visit their website at http://www.dced.state.ak.us/insurance/ or contact either their Juneau or Anchorage office at (907) 465-2515 or (907) 269-7900.

0 comments:

Post a Comment