Saturday, December 20, 2014

Delaware Car Insurance




Delaware Car Insurance: Residents

Guide to Requirements

If you are in Delaware and you are looking for car insurance, you may
find that there are innumerable insurance companies who will lure you to
buy a policy from them and offer you cheap insurance. The
advertisements may be enticing, but not all companies are genuine.
Hence, finding the right car insurance policy in Delaware can be a very
complicated task.
 
It is therefore very essential to first get information about the
insurance requirements from the Delaware Department of Insurance before
buying insurance. Each state has its own set of rules and guidelines
concerning car insurance, and if you want to get the best insurance
coverage, you must first know the rules of your state, Delaware.
The laws in Delaware make it compulsory for every driver in the state to
have minimum liability insurance coverage. The minimum liability
coverage covers the cost of, not only the bodily injury, but also the
property damage.
 
Delaware follows the 'Tort System' for car insurance. As per the system,
a single person is held responsible for the accident and has to pay for
the damages.
Each and every driver in Delaware, as per the law, is required to have
minimum liability coverage of $15,000 to pay for the medical expenses of
a single person who suffers bodily injuries in an accident. Delaware
state auto insurance law also requires drivers to have a minimum of
$30,000 coverage to pay for damages, if more than one person is injured
in an accident. If the driver causes any damage to private property, the
minimum coverage required is $10,000.
 
Apart from minimum liability insurance, Delaware has a tort system which
also requires every driver to have Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
coverage for minimum of $15,000 for one person and $30,000 for the total
number people involved in the accident.
Comprehensive information on Delaware state requirements for auto
insurance can be obtained from the Delaware Department of Insurance in
Dover at 1-800-282-8611 or by visiting their website athttp://www.delawareinsurance.gov/.
 
If you live in Delaware and looking to save money on your car insurance,
there are some discounts that Delaware auto insurance companies offer.
Most of our insurance partners in Delaware offer discounts as they
compete for business locally. You can check for available discounts
using our free quotes comparison tool available at the end of this
article.
There are various types of discounts available for drivers in Delaware. Some of which includes:
 
Good Grades Discounts: If you are a student, then you
might be qualified for this discount offer. But your academic records
should reflect that you have consistently maintained good grades. If you
maintain a 3.0 Grade Per Annum (GPA), you may qualify for the discount.
This type of discounts is especially helpful for young drivers who are
just getting started.
Defensive Driving and Safety Devices: If you've taken a
defensive driving course and do not have any accident records, some
companies may offer you a discount on your premium. You should also be
eligible for discounts if your car is equipped with modern safety
devices.

0 comments:

Post a Comment