Saturday, December 20, 2014

Idaho Car Insurance





Idaho Car Insurance: Driver's Guide to

Auto Insurance Requirements in ID

Idaho, like most other U.S. states, has minimum mandatory requirements
for car insurance. Before committing to a policy, you must familiarize
yourself with the state's specifications.
Idaho follows a tort system. Under this system, one of the parties
involved in the accident is considered guilty of causing it. The person
responsible for the accident and his insurance company has to pay for
all the damages caused by the accident. The driver who is at fault for
causing the accident can be sued in a civil court by the people involved
in the accident to recover lost wages or compensation for sustained
damages.
 
The state law of Idaho requires all its drivers to purchase minimum
bodily injury liability of $25,000 per injured person per accident,
$50,000 as bodily injury liability for all people injured in an accident
and a minimum of $15,000 property damage liability. This basic coverage
plan is referred to as 25/50/15 coverage. The liability policy pays for
injuries and damages if you are responsible for the accident. It is
recommended that all car owners purchase more than the minimum required
liability.
As per the state law of Idaho, it is not mandatory for car owners to
purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage liability. But it's
wiser to purchase this coverage as it pays for damages if you are
involved in an accident with a driver who is uninsured or underinsured.
If you purchase uninsured motorist coverage, it should be at least the
same amount as bodily injury liability.
Purchasing Collision and Comprehensive coverage is also not mandatory in
Idaho. These types of coverage pay for damages to the insured vehicle
up to its blue book value. If the cost of repairs exceeds the cost of
car, the market value of the car is calculated and given to the owner in
cash.
If you don't comply with the minimum requirements of insurance laws of
the state, your driver's license will be suspended. Once the suspension
period is over, you can apply for reinstatement of your license through
Idaho Transportation Department.
Further information regarding Idaho’s insurance policies can be obtained
by contacting the Idaho Department of Insurance at 1-800-721-3272 or
visiting their website available at http://www.doi.idaho.gov .
 
The average car insurance premium rate for an Idaho resident is $1,494
for 2009. Car insurance premium rates are increasing every year.

0 comments:

Post a Comment