Saturday, December 20, 2014

Maine Car Insurance




Maine Car Insurance: A Simple

Overview of ME Auto Insurance

The Tort System is followed in the state of Maine. The Tort system
states that the person responsible for the accident be found. That
person and his/her car insurance company are to be held responsible for
all the damage. The rules of the Tort system differ from one state to
another.
 
It is mandatory to have Medical Payments coverage in Maine to cover the
funeral and medical expenses for you and the people hurt in the car
accident. Minimum Medical Payment of $1,000 is also required.
Maine requires a minimum Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage of
$50,000 per person to cover the damage caused to you or your party by an
uninsured driver. To cover any bodily injury caused to you and your
party by uninsured/underinsured driver $100,000 is needed.
Carrying a proof of insurance is also required in ME if involved in an
accident or stopped by state authorities when driving. If you don’t have
a proof of auto insurance when requested, you can be fined up to $500
and your license registration could be suspended for up to 30 days.
More details on Maine auto insurance requirements are available by
contacting contact the Maine Bureau of Insurance in Augusta prior to
buying a policy. This can be done either by calling their office at
1-800 300-5000 or visiting http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/.
Different companies offer different car insurance prices. Using out free
quotes too, you can get up to different quotes from multiple companies
in Maine. It is wise to compare the prices of five or six car insurance
companies so you can figure out which is suitable for you. Prices of
various car insurance companies are also given by State Insurance
Company.
Asking for discounts from insurance companies can get you a good deal.
Car insurance companies offer discounts or a special rate for people
with a good credit rating, an old car with a low mileage, of a certain
age, who’ve taken a drivers course, who’ve fitted their car with a
security system.
Monthly premiums of car insurance can be expensive. If you pay for six
month or a year at a time, the premiums can be much lower as you save
yourself paying the interest usually included in monthly payments.
 
Taking advice from family and friends can find you a suitable deal. A
friend or a member of the family could have experience with a particular
insurance company and know the quality of service offered by the
company. You can also use customer services rating published by the
insurance provider or available elsewhere on the internet or car
magazines.
The more deductible you pay, the less you’ll pay in premiums. Also, you
and your spouse can opt for a joint insurance policy and avail
discounts. Car insurance companies also offer discounts after you have
turned 25 years of age or 55. Premiums can also be changed when you move
from one address to another. The new rate will depend on the crime rate
and vandalism in the new area.

0 comments:

Post a Comment