Saturday, December 20, 2014

Pennsylvania Car Insurance




Pennsylvania Car Insurance: Quick 

Guide to Auto Insurance in PA

Like other states in the USA, it is mandatory for car drivers to have
car insurance. The insurance laws of Pennsylvania are different from
other states. It is, therefore, essential to understand the laws that
are effective in the sate before buying an insurance policy.
The five most important car insurance laws in Pennsylvania that you need to know are:

1. Pennsylvania's Minimum Requirements For car Insurance:

The laws of Pennsylvania make it mandatory for every driver to have a
minimum liability limit of $15,000 for any bodily injury per person.
Whereas, the liability limit per accident is $30,000. For damage to the
property in an accident, the liability limit is $5000. The Pennsylvania
law also requires every driver to carry medical expense coverage for
$5000. These required minimum limits are very low and it do not offer
full coverage of the damages if you get into a serious accident.

2. No Fault Car Insurance State:

The no-fault system is also referred to as Tort System and it implies
that the driver is held responsible for the accident. If you are car
driver in Pennsylvania, you have the option to choose either a limited
tort or full tort on your insurance policy. It is, however, advisable to
choose full tort because it provides a better car insurance coverage if
you get into an accident. Limited tort on the other hand would be
expensive for you and it provides only limited coverage.

3. Hefty Penalties for not having Car Insurance:

If you are driving a car in Pennsylvania without a proof of insurance,
you are running a great risk. If you get caught by a police officer,
your license will be suspended for 90 days and you will also be fined.
You'll also get a ticket for driving without insurance proof.

4. Assigned Risk Plan:

The assigned risk plan ensures that each and every car driver gets car
insurance irrespective of how high risk you are as a driver. If an
insurance company refuses or cancels your insurance coverage, then you
could use this law to get insurance coverage.

5. Uninsured Motorist Coverage for Extra Protection:

If you own more than one vehicle and you have them insured under the
same insurance policy, you can buy an uninsured coverage for the
vehicle. However, if you get additional coverage you have to pay an
additional premium and you would be entitled to receive additional
protection.

6. More information on PA Policies:

Further details pertaining to Pennsylvania insurance requirements and
information consumers can contact the Pennsylvania Insurance Department
located in Philadelphia, Harrisburg and Pittsburgh by calling (877)
881-6388 or by visiting their web site athttp://www.insurance.pa.gov/.
Understanding the laws is essential because it not only helps you drive safely in the state, but also saves you money.

0 comments:

Post a Comment