Saturday, December 20, 2014

Connecticut Car Insurance




Connecticut Car Insurance: What 

Residents Need to Know

Like all other states in the United States, Connecticut also requires
its drivers to carry an acceptable minimum insurance coverage of vehicle
liability insurance.
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of the state requires all car
owners to prove that they have adequate financial responsibility to
cover all possible costs involved in an accident.
Unlike some other states that give you the choice to address the matter
of financial responsibility, the state of Connecticut gives you only one
option. You must purchase bodily injury and property damage
liabilities.
 
Connecticut state law requires every driver in the state to have $25,000
worth of bodily injury coverage for injuries or death of one person in
an accident, and up to a total of $40,000 for coverage of two people or
more in the event injuries and death in an accident. In addition to
this, coverage for $10,000 as property damage liability is also
required.
 
These figures represent the minimum coverage required. This basic
coverage plan, as required by the law, is often referred to as 25/40/10
coverage. Usually, insurance companies and brokers will recommend that
you have more protection than this.
Buying uninsured motorist and under insured motorist coverage is not
mandatory under in Connecticut. However, the insurance companies are
required to offer these to all customers.
If you cancel your insurance policy or let it lapse, your insurance
company will notify the Department of Motor Vehicles. You may be asked
to present proof of insurance on certain occasions. Your insurance
identification card or the declaration page of the policy can serve as
legal proof.
If you have any doubts, you can log onto the official website of the Department of Motor Vehicles of the state for clarification
More detailed information on Connecticut auto insurance requirements is
available by calling the Connecticut Insurance Department in Hartford on
1-860-297-3800 or by visiting their website athttp://www.ct.gov/cid/site/.
 
If you are caught without valid car insurance, the relevant authorities
will send you a warning and you may end up paying a penalty of $200. You
are given 30 days to get yourself an appropriate insurance cover.
However, at the end of these 30 days, if you still don't have insurance,
you may be summoned to court and your license could be suspended.
The average car insurance premium rate for residents of Connecticut in
the year 2009 is $2,189. This is much higher than the national average
of $1,807. The rates in 2009 are also 10% higher than that of 2008.

0 comments:

Post a Comment