Saturday, December 20, 2014

Hawaii Car Insurance




Hawaii Car Insurance: Quick Guide to

State Requirements

A car insurance is essential to you can driver a vehicle in Hawaii. The
state law requires that your vehicle be insured for the period of its
registration. You are also supposed to have a valid vehicle insurance
identification card in your car at all times.
 
You can be fined if you are found to be driving without a proper
identification card. Driving without insurance will cause your vehicle
registration to be cancelled and you will have to surrender the
registration certificate and the license plate to your county director
of finance.
Hawaii is a “no fault” state. This means that your car insurance company
will pay for the medical expenses for you and your passengers' injuries
up to the upper limit of the Personal Injury Protection, regardless of
who is at fault in the accident.
In Hawaii, car insurance coverage requires driver to carry a minimum of
Personal Injury Protection amount of $10,000 per person for you and
every member of your family.
The bodily injury coverage pays for injuries that you may cause to
others. The minimum amount for this coverage is $20,000 per person and
$40,000 for all injuries per accident.
“No fault” applies only to injuries caused to people. It does not apply
to property damage. Therefore, the person who is held responsible for
the accident has to pay for causing damages to others property. The
property damage liability required need to cover a minimum limit of
$10,000 per accident.
Overall, the basic coverage is referred to as 20/40/10 coverage.
For more details on laws and regulations required by authorities in
Hawaii, contact Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs in
Honolulu, by calling (808) 586-279 or visiting their website at http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/ins.
 
Drivers may add optional insurance coverage option which includes the
physical damage coverage that pays for the damage caused to your own car
in the event of an accident. This coverage includes collision insurance
and coverage insurance.
Unlike some other state, some coverage options are not mandatory in
Hawaii. However, you can still consider these options for additional
coverage such as having insurance against uninsured or under-insured
motorists.
 
You may buy uninsured motorist coverage at a minimum of $20,000 per
person to pay for serious bodily injury or death if the driver at fault
is uninsured, or in case of a hit and run accident. You may also
purchase underinsured motorist coverage at a minimum of $20,000 per
person to pay if the driver at fault does not have adequate insurance to
cover all costs.

1 comments:

Post a Comment