Saturday, December 20, 2014

Missouri Car Insurance

Missouri Car Insurance: Coverage

Requirements for the 18th Most

Populous State

Before registering your car and driving it on the roads of Missouri, you
must prove your financial responsibility. Though the state gives you
various options to accomplish this, one of the most popular methods is
to purchase car insurance.
The state of Missouri requires drivers to have a minimum bodily injury
liability of $25,000 per injured person per accident and $50,000 for all
injuries in an accident. The minimum amount for property damage
liability for any one accident is $10,000.
Uninsured motorist coverage is also mandatory in the state to help
protect you against damages caused by uninsured drivers. The limits for
bodily injury are the same as regular coverage.
This basic plan is referred to as 25/50/10 coverage with 25/50 UM limits.
The insurance requirements laid down by the law of the state are simple.
You may add more coverage options to your personal car insurance plan
such as collision coverage, physical damage coverage, personal injury
protection coverage and gap insurance.
Missouri follows a tort system. Under this system, one of the parties
involved in the accident is believed to be guilty of causing the
accident. The person responsible for causing the accident and his/her
insurance company has to pay for all the damages that arise from the
Driving your car without valid insurance proof can result in either 4
points on your driving record or suspension of your license. Driving
uninsured may also result in automatic suspension of your license and
you will be required to pay a fine to get it back.
If you are uninsured and have an accident, you will be required to file
an SR-22 form to the Department of Revenue within the next 3 years.
More details on Missouri auto insurance requirements are available
directly from Missouri Department of Insurance by visiting their website
at or by calling their Jefferson City office on 800-726-7390.
Purchasing a car insurance policy can be expensive. However, you can
still save some money by shopping around. Get quotes from multiple
online insurance companies. We have selected partners in every state in
the country that offer the most competitive rates and comparing the
prices is very easy using our online quotes system available at the end
of this article. Over the minimum requirements of the state law, you
need to decide what extra coverage you need, then look for plans that
cover all your specific requirements.
Start looking for a policy a few months in advance and make sure that
you do thorough research. Otherwise, you might end up paying more than
what you should.
To keep the cost of your insurance premium low, try to maintain a clean
driving record. Increasing the deductible will also bring down the
premium rates.


Post a Comment