Saturday, December 20, 2014

Montana Car Insurance



Montana Car Insurance: Simple Guide

to State Auto Insurance Requirements

Before you start driving in the state of Montana, there are some basic
regulations that you need to know. The most important of these are the
minimum car insurance requirements as mandated by the law of the state.

Minimum Legal Car Insurance Coverage

The law in the state of Montana requires a driver to have a minimum
bodily injury liability of $25,000 per injured person per accident and
up to $50,000 for all injuries per accident.
The property damage liability coverage has a minimum limit of $10,000.
This basic plan is often referred to as 25/50/10 coverage.
 
Under Montana auto insurance law, it is mandatory for companies to offer
uninsured motorist coverage. But it is up to a driver to decide if they
want to take this coverage. In other words, it’s recommended and
sometimes bundles as part of your auto insurance quotes, but it’s still
optional.
Unlike some other states that follow a “no fault” system, the state of
Montana follows a tort system, which means that one of the parties
involved in the accident must be responsible for causing it. The person
held responsible for causing the accident has to pay for all the
damages. The tort system varies slightly from state to state.
 
Though not required by the law, you may also purchase collision and
comprehensive coverage to pay for damages against accidents and other
factors such as theft and natural disasters.
Private Injury Protection is also a valuable addition to your insurance
policy. It pays for medical expenses required in treating injuries
sustained by you and your passengers in the event of an accident.
The state of Montana allows owners of 25 vehicles or more to obtain a
self-insurance certificate. More details on auto insurance requirement
in the state of Montana can be obtained by directly contacting Montana
State Auditor in Helena on (406) 444-2040 or visiting their website at http://www.csi.mt.gov/industry/insurance.asp.

What if you Drive with No Auto Insurance?

Driving without valid insurance can result in strict penalties within
the state of Montana. You may be hit with a misdemeanor charge, which
includes a fine of up to $500 and 5 points on your driving license. A
total of 30 points on your license ultimately leads to its cancellation.
You may also be jailed for 10 days. However, if you are caught a second
time without valid car insurance, you will face a higher fine and
another 10 days in jail. Moreover, your license may be suspended for a
period of 90 days.
In order to find the best rate possible for car insurance, make sure
that you compare the prices of at least 3 to 4 car insurance companies

0 comments:

Post a Comment