Saturday, December 20, 2014

Nevada Car Insurance




Nevada Car Insurance - Basic Guide to

Residents Requirements

If you are a driver residing in the state of Nevada, you are required by the state law to have car insurance.
Even though each state has its own requirements, bodily injury liability
and property damage are the minimum coverage plan that you need to buy
in Nevada. Only if you own 11 vehicles or more, you are exempt from
buying insurance in the state of Nevada.
The state follows a tort system which means that one of the parties
involved in the accident must be guilty of causing it. The party held
liable is responsible for covering expenses of bodily injuries and
property damage.
 
Whether a vehicle is in use or not, the owners must have $15,000 of
bodily injury coverage per person per accident, $30,000 for all injuries
in an accident and $10,000 as property damage coverage per accident.
This basic coverage is referred to as 15/30/10 coverage.
The basic coverage plans are there to compensate others and their
property from damages as a result of an accident. This basic coverage
doesn't cover costs of any injury or damage to you, your passengers or
your car if you are found at fault.
Over and above the mandatory basic plan, it is advisable to add a few
optional coverage options to the policy. These coverage options prove
really beneficial if you are at fault in an accident.
The Personal Injury Protection coverage will pay for medical expenses
required by you and your passengers in case you are at fault in an
accident.
Uninsured and under-insured motorist coverage options are not required in
Nevada. They are equal in amount to the basic coverage plans.
 
Unlike most states, if you own 11 vehicles or more, you are exempt from buying auto insurance coverage in the state of Nevada.
The average car insurance premium for Nevada residents in the year 2009
is $2,097. This year the rate is 10% higher than that of 2008.
To ascertain who has coverage and who doesn't, the state of Nevada has
an Insurance Verification Program in place. This is one of the reasons
why you need to carry proof of your coverage in your car before you
drive off. SR-22 form is available from your car insurance company for a
small fee serves as proof of your insurance coverage. It is valid for 3
years.
More details on Nevada auto insurance requirements can be obtained by
contacting the Nevada Division of Insurance in Carson City on
1-775-687-4270 or Las Vegas on 1-702-486-4009 or visiting their website
at http://doi.state.nv.us.
 
Driving without valid insurance can attract severe penalties. You may
even have your driver license suspended until you get insurance that
meet the state requirements.

0 comments:

Post a Comment