Saturday, December 20, 2014

Oklahoma Car Insurance





Oklahoma Car Insurance: Simple Guide

to Car Insurance in OK

The average amount spent on car insurance by a driver in Oklahoma is
$678, which is a very low amount compared to other states. It does not
mean that a driver in the state spends less on insurance, however.
Oklahoma is one the states where insurance premium rates are cheap.
As per the traffic laws, liability insurance is a must for every car
driver in Oklahoma. The liability insurance in Oklahoma covers not only
the bodily injury, but also medical, expenses, car repair expense and
private property expenses.
 
According to the 26/51/26 code, a code that guides the car insurance
industry, the minimum liability requirements in Oklahoma are $26,000 for
every injured person in the accident, $51,000 for each accident and
$26,000 for damage to personal property.
 
It is advisable to have protection for personal injury in your car
insurance policy so that all your medical expenses are taken care of by
the insurance company. However, insurance laws in Oklahoma do not have
provision for minimum personal injury protection. A few knowledgeable
insurance professionals would advise you to include this optional
coverage in your personal car insurance.
 
The law in Oklahoma also does not provide any scope for uninsured driver
coverage. However, it is essential that you have coverage for uninsured
drivers so that you get protection for any bodily injury caused to you
by uninsured driver. Uninsured driver coverage would provide you with
extra protection.
Some of the rules of car insurance in Oklahoma that you should know:
 
As per the rules, you have to carry proof of your car insurance with you
at all times and, if you’re caught by a traffic police officer for some
reason and you fail to show your insurance proof, you have to face the
penalty. You have to pay a fine of $300 and you may also face
imprisonment for up to 40 days.
According to the traffic laws of the state, all transport owners need to
carry a minimum liability car insurance. The rates for minimum
liability for transport owners are:
  • $30,000 for death of one person
  • $60,000 for injury or death of people in an accident
  • $30,000 for causing damage to the private property
Further information regarding auto insurance in OK can be found through the Oklahoma Insurance Department by visiting http://www.ok.gov/oid/ or calling their office in Oklahoma City on 1-800-522-0071 or Tulsa on 1-800-728-2906.
 
If your car insurance in Oklahoma is stopped by your insurance company
within 180 days from the starting date of your policy then the company
has to intimate about the same to the Department of Safety in Oklahoma.
The department would then communicate with you and you have to reply to
the department within 40 days and produce proof of your insurance. But
if you fail to produce proof, your car registration would be cancelled
and your license would be suspended.

0 comments:

Post a Comment